Published: 11 May 2023

RESISTANCE: How can the Arts decolonise Europe’s Digital Transformation


Following the conclusion of the ‘RESISTANCE Residency’ in Lesvos-Greece, a public exhibition was produced, showcasing the work produced during the programme. The exhibition was curated and produced by LATRA, and was set-up after the conclusion of all three residency cycles.

The theme of the exhibition was ‘RESISTANCE: How can the Arts decolonise Europe’s Digital Transformation’. The intention of the exhibition was to present the outputs of the programme to local, regional, national and international stakeholders present in Lesvos, in order to increase awareness both on the process of  involving arts and culture practitioners to address challenges stemming from Europe’s digital transformation, as well as display the research and solutions produced by residents to the aforementioned stakeholders.

The exhibition was produced in the same building where the residency was implemented, so it carried the trace and memory of the programme. Over three floors in a listed building at the centre of Mytilene, the exhibition presented the boards that were co-created by the residents, photographs documenting the process of co-creation and video displays and installations meant to contextualise the process and outputs. More than 60 people attended the inauguration of the exhibition, while more than 300 people visited the exhibition throughout its lifecycle. The opening of the exhibition was held on the 26th of July 2022, and it remained open until the 31st of August 2022. The exhibition featured the work of: Vijay Patel, Pavel Ruzyak, Eva Macali, David Sarlos, Eliza Goldox, Oyidiya Oji Palino, Lauren Lapidge, Katrine Pedersen, Louise Staugaard, Jamie Allen, Marta Espiridiao, Yoni Lefevre, Katerina Gkoutziouli, Katarzyna Staniszewska Korzeniewska, Oana Moisil, Johanna Bratel, Luciarita Nunziata, Marios Isaakidis, Adi Lerer, Katrzyna Dybzynska, Kristina Hristova, Vukasin Nedeljkovic, Andreas Christodoulou, Danislava Toshkova, Patrycja Plich, Paulina Brelinska-Garsztka, Alice Pedroletti, Andreia Martins, Martina Freyja Kartelo, Samar Zughool.